No.58 Wright Motorsports Pro Porsche 911

Pit Strategy paid off for Wright Motorsports Sunday noon and its Pro-Am team of Patrick Long and Scott Hargrove when they took their first win of the season at Sonoma Raceway in No.58 Porsche 911 GT3. When the pit window opened, Long was the first in the pits and co-driver Hargrove was first out, taking the lead from Wright teammates, Matt Campbell/Anthony Imperato in No.91 Pro-Am Porsche 911. Hargrove led the second half to take the Checkered Flag. The weather was in the mid nineties, but at least the smoke and haze from the Yolo County wild fires that enveloped the track Saturday afternoon had somewhat abated.

Dane Cameron & Memo Gidley

Dane Cameron and Memo Gidley

Also taking advantage of early in, early out were the Pro-Am teams, with Imperato & Campbell retaining their class lead, while relinquishing the overall lead. Moving up in class rank was Mike Hedlund, taking over for Dane Cameron in No.43 RealTime Racing Acura NSX. they moved into second place, ahead of GMG’s James Sofronas & Dirk Werner in No.14 Porsche 911.

Andy Lally/No.19 One11 Competition Pro-Am Porsche 911 didn’t make it past the exit of Turn 4 when he had an incident with Maxime Soulet/No.3 K-Pax Racing Pro Bentley Continental. Lally had to be retrieved from the corner, while Soulet continued. This brought out the first Safety Car for two laps, and a Steward’s Review post-race.

Guy Cosmo/No.31 TR3 Pro-Am Ferrari 488 pitted and retired after two laps.

No.19 One11 Competition Ferrari

Guy Cosmo & Patrick Byrne

No.3 K-Pax Racing Bentley

Left to Right: No.19 One11 Competition Pro-Am Ferrari; Guy Cosmo & Co-Driver Patrick Byrne; and No.3 Pro K-Pax Bentley Continental.

On Lap 6, Campbell set the fastest lap of 91.38 mph which held for the rest of the 48-lap race.

Two drivers drew drive-through penalties for passing during the Safety Car situation/on the restart: Kyle Marcelli/No.80 Pro-Am Racers Ed Motorsports Acura NSX and Alex Barron/No.38 KR2 Motorsports Pro-Am Porsche 911.

Caeser Bacarella/No.7 Squadra Corse Ferrari 488 in the Am class brought out the Safety Car when he went off going into Turn 4. He got restarted, but the caution had already been called. Early on in the race, Bacarella’s teammate, Martin Fuentes, had turned the fastest Am lap of 88.69 mph.

The hardest hit of the race was David Askew/No.63 DXDT Racing Pro-Am Mercedes-AMG, spinning out and into the concrete wall on the drag strip going into Turn 7. This brought out the Safety Car yet again.

There was some nail biting racing which Werner hopes got caught on TV. He said there were three rows of two cars scraping mirrors going into Turn 6. He stuck his nose in there and took advantage. The RealTime Acura came home with doughnuts on the driver’s door, but Hargrove came second in class.

The podium winners for the Pro Class were Long & Hargrove in first, Saturday’s winners Toni Vilander & Miguel Molina second in No.61 R.Ferri Motorsport Ferrari 488 and K-Pax’s No.9 Bentley Continental with Andy Soucek and Alvaro Parente. Vilander and Molina lead the Pro Standings with 148 points. Parente and Soucek are second in the standings, with 134 points. Long and Hargrove have 101 points for third place. With this being their last race of the weekend, many of the drivers had early flights and were faster out of the track or onto the choppers than they were on track.

Pro Class Podium

Left to Right: Andy Soucek, Alvaro Parente, Scott Hargrove, Wright Team Representative, and two team reps from R.Ferri Motorsports.

Hargrove credited their pit strategy to getting in front of the R.Ferri Ferrari as he didn’t think he could pass it on the track. He admits the strategy was different, leap-frogging in the pits, but it worked. It would have been even better if he hadn’t had trouble restarting the car. The track debris and marbles were a problem for him on the restart going into Turn 1. Tires were a key component for the team this weekend.

The Pro-Am podium winners were GMG Racing No.14 Porsche 911 with Sofronas and Werner, with RealTime’s Acura in second with Cameron and Hargrove, and Racers Edge’s No.80 Acura in third with Marcelli and Martin Barkey, despite their earlier drive-through penalty. Barkey and Marcelli lead the Pro-Am standings with 128 points.

Pro-Am podium winners

Left to Right: Anthony Imperato, James Sofronas, Dirk Werner, Dane Cameron and Mike Hedlund.

Sofronas said he really wanted to do this race, as he loves the Sonoma track. The pit stop was a bit of an issue for the team, as Sofronas admits he’s bigger than the other drivers; and it was a bit awkward during the driver change with him adjusting the belts. The cautions helped as it gave him time to work on the belts. He likes racing at Sonoma so much, he also ran in the Pirelli GT4 America SprintX race both days, coming in second in the Am class both days.

The GT cars sat on the pre grid in the hot, sweltering sun for more than a half hour. Some drivers took shelter in their pit shelters, while others were out talking to folks. Most of the cars had protective coverings to help cut the heat for the driver who took the first stint.

Patrick Long & Justin Bell

No.91 Wright Motorsports Porsche

Colin Braun and Team

Left to Right: Patrick Long & Justin Bell; covered-up No.91 Wright Motorsports Porsche; and Colin Braun and DXDT Racing Pro-Am team.

The next race for the series will be Rounds 9 & 10 over Labor Day weekend at Watkins Glen International.

No.34 Murillo Racing Mercedes

No.34 Murillo Racing Mercedes

In other Sunday races:
The Pirelli GT4 America SprintX race was won by Christian Szymczak and local driver Kenny Murrillo, overall and in the GT4 West ProAm category, driving No.34 Murrillo Racing Mercedes-AMG. They had also won on Saturday. In other classes, the winners were Preston Calvert and Matthew Keegan/No.51 Team Panoz Racing Panoz Avezzano GT in the GT4 SprintX Am class; Jarrett Andretti and Colin Mullan/No.36 Andretti Autosport McLaren 570S; and Jeff Burton and Vesko Kozarov/No.91 Reardon Racing Audi R8 LMS in the GT4 West WAm class.

The largest race entry, with 25 cars, was for TC America-TCR & TCA Classes. This race was for single drivers, no co-drivers. It was won overall and in the TCR class by Mason Filippi, another local driver, racing No.12 Copeland Motorsports Hyundai Veloster. The TCR Cup class was won by Bryan Putt/No.15 ROWE Racing Audi Sport. Tyler Maxon/No.74 Copeland Motorsports Mazda Global MX5 Cup won the TCA class.

Ian James won the Pirelli GT4 America race over 20 other drivers including Spencer Pumpelly/No.66 TRG Porsche Cayman and Matt Brabham/No.20 CRP Racing Porsche Cayman. James drove No.50 Team Panoz Racing Panoz Avezzano to win overall and in the Pro Class. Drew Stavely/No.12 Ian Lacey Racing Ford Mustang won the Am class.

In the TC America-TC Class race, Cameron Evans won in No.82 Copart/BimmerWorld Racing BMW M240iR Cup. All but one of the 12 drivers ran a similar car.

Comments are closed.