Indy 500 Logo

Will Power/No.1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet was the overall fastest driver Sunday afternoon at Indianapolis Motor Speedway during the hour-long practice for the Indianapolis 500. The Verizon IndyCar Series 2014 Champion ran his fast lap of 227.377 mph during the first of the two half-hour sessions. His best no-tow time was 226.151 mph.

Will Power's Car & Crew

Scott Dixon/No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet had the top no-tow time of 226.184 mph, but his overall best lap put him in tenth position for the practice.

Second through fifth were Jack Hawksworth/No.41 ABC Supply AJ Foyt Honda was second, at a lap of 227.316 mph; Simon Pagenaud/No.22 Aveya Team Penske Chevrolet – 226.863 mph/225.851 mph no-tow; James Jakes/No.7 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda – 226.784 mph; and Helio Castroneves/No.3 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

Gabby Chaves/No.98 Bowers & Wilkins/Curb Honda was top Rookie, in sixteenth place.

All 34 cars were on track.

Ed Carpenter/No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka CFH Racing Chevrolet, running his backup car which had been prepared in under three hours, finished thirty-second for the practice. His best time was 223.981 mph overall and with no-tow.

Carpenter finished ahead of Rookie Stefano Coletti/No.4 KV Racing technology Chevrolet in thirty-third, and Past Indy 500 winner, Buddy Lazier/No.91 Wynn Iowa Vision Research Lazier Racing Chevrolet, finished last. He was on a short program, not on track until Thursday afternoon.

Next up – the latest revised format for 2015 Indianapolis 500 Qualifying.