DARIO FRANCHITTI/No.10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing has led for 45 laps by Lap 80. Other leaders have been Pole Sitter HELIO CASTRONEVES/No.3 Team Penske-seven laps; 2008 Indy 500 winner and champion, SCOTT DIXON/No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing-17 LAPS; and RYAN BRISCOE/No.6 Team Penske-11 laps.

So far RAPHAEL MATOS/No.2 Luczo Dragon Racing has been the top Rookie. At Lap 80, he was running fourth, and has been up with the front runners since he started twelfth.

While no one was looking, ALEX TAGLIANI/No.36 Conquest Racing moved from last to sixteenth on lap 80. Tag had been bumped from the field on Bump Day, and was in line to try again when the gun went off. The car had been qualified by BRUNO JUNQUEIRA in P33.

A couple of hours after the gun, team owner ERIC BACHELART made the decision to put the Canadian in the car, displacing Junqueira. At the Indy 500, it’s the car which qualifies, not the driver.

WILL POWER/No.12 Penske Racing is the top running one-off driver, who isn’t running the full season. He started ninth and was seventh on Lap 80.

Turn Four’s high right wall must have an invisible target painted all over it.

GRAHAM RAHAL/No.02 Newman Haas Lanigan Racing hit the Turn Four wall on Lap 56. He retired, and has been checked and cleared to drive. The second-generation Indy 500 driver  was running fifth at the time. He said he was trying to avoid MILKA DUNO/No.23 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing. She started twenty-ninth and was running at the back when the accident occurred.

DAVEY HAMILTON/No.44 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, drove high and into the Turn Four wall on Lap 80. He is the oldest driver in the field at age 47. Hamilton was cleared and released to drive.