RYAN BRISCOE/No.6 Team Penske pipped SCOTT DIXON/No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing near the end of the first Wednesday afternoon test session for the Indy Racing League’s Indy Cars at Homestead Miami Speedway. Briscoe pulled a fast lap near the end of his run – 00:25.1984/212.156 mph – fastest time of the weekend. Dixon, who had led most of the Tuesday test sessions and for more than 90 minutes of the Wednesday session, was second. While he was leading, Dixon’s Wednesday time was slower than Tuesday’s fast lap.

MARCO ANDRETTI/No.26 Andretti Green Racing passed DARIO FRANCHITTI/No.10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing near the end of the session, and MARIO MORAES/No.5 KV Racing Technology rounded out the top five.

Moraes,  who Tuesday had said he was trying to meet and remember everyone on his team, had help Wednesday from his new boss – JIMMY VASSER. The driver turned owner, with his new 2009 shorter hair cut, had the whole team wearing name tags to help Moraes.

JUSTIN WILSON is hopeful that DALE COYNE will be able to put something together in the next ten days or so which would enable Wilson to run the 2009 season. Wilson was nineteenth in the first Wednesday test session. His race engineer is BILL PAPPAS, who joined Dale Coyne Racing in January, coming from the Ganassi team.

Twenty-one drivers were on course Wednesday. Andretti worked the hardest, turning 89 laps.

There were several cautions for “checking the track for debris.” There were reports of problems in Turns One and Three, and of cut tires.

Firestone reported that the ambient temperature was 70 degrees F/21C the entire first session. However, the track temperature dropped from 90 F to 74F/24C. The wind was stiff and the skies were partly cloudy, making it feel a lot cooler than 70 degrees.


  1. RYAN BRISCOE/No.6 Team Penske
  2. SCOTT DIXON/No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing
  3. MARCO ANDRETTI/No.26 Andretti Green Racing
  4. DARIO FRANCHITTI/No.10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing
  5. MARIO MORAES/No.5 KV Racing Technology
  6. TONY KANAAN/No.11 Andretti Green Racing
  7. GRAHAM RAHAL/No.02 Newman Haas Lanigan Racing
  8. WILL POWER/No.3 Team Penske
  9. DAN WHELDON/No.4 Panther Racing
  10. MIKE CONWAY*/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
  11. DANICA PATRICK/No7 Andretti Green Racing
  12. ED CARPENTER/No.20 Vision Racing
  13. HIDEKI MUTOH/No.27 Andretti Green Racing
  14. ROBERT DOORNBOS*/No.06 Newman Haas Lanigan Racing
  15. RAFAEL MATOS*/No.12 Luczo Dragon Racing
  16. EJ VISO/No.13 HVM Racing
  17. VITOR MEIRA/No.14 A.J. Foyt Enterprises
  18. MILKA DUNO/Newman Haas Lanigan Racing
  19. JUSTIN WILSON/No.18 Dale Coyne Racing
  20. JAIME CAMARA/No.34 Conquest Racing
  21. STANTON BARRETT*/No.98 Curb/Agajanian/Team 3G